Honorary Presidents

Members who have held office as President may be elected as Honorary President and shall continue as such for as long as they remain members of the Association.

Honorary Presidents shall be entitled to attend meetings of the Council, but shall not have the right to vote at Council meetings (cf. EAPS By-Laws Article 1: Officers and Council 1.6)

To honour their significant contributions to the European Association for Population Studies, the members of EAPS elected the following Honorary Presidents:

  • Dirk J. van de Kaa, the Netherlands, year of election 1987
  • Gérard Calot †, France, year of election 1991
  • Charlotte Höhn, Germany, year of election 1995
  • Graziella Caselli, Italy, year of election 1999
  • Guillaume Wunsch, Belgium, year of election 2003
  • Janina Józwiak †, Poland, year of election 2008
  • Francois Héran, France, year of election 2012
  • Francesco Billari, Italy, year of election 2016
  • Zsolt Spéder, Hungary, year of election 2018
  • Jane Falkingham, United Kingdom, year of election 2020