Beyer Award

Gunther Beyer Award for Best Paper by an Early Career Scholar at a European Population Conference

As a tribute to one of the founding fathers of EAPS, this prize is awarded for the best paper by an early career scholar at each European Population Conference.

Nominations for this Award can be made until two months before the start of a European Population Conference. As EPC 2022 will convene from 29 June - 2 July 2022, the deadline for this Award is 1 May 2022.

Rules of Play for the Gunther Beyer Award

  • Full, single or duo authored papers by early career scholars who (both) have no more than 5 years of experience since completion of their PhD at the time of the European Population Conference may be nominated for this award.
  • Candidates may nominate themselves for this Award. Candidates may also be nominated by at least 1 member of EAPS.
  • The full paper must be submitted to EAPS at least two months before a European Population Conference.
  • Nominations should include the curriculum vitae of the author(s).
  • Nominations should be sent to EAPS and will be treated as confidential.
  • The nominated paper should be part of the program of the EPC and be accepted for (oral or poster) presentation at the EPC.
  • Nominated papers will be judged by a Jury of EAPS Honorary Presidents
  • Criteria for this award are: choice of topic and originality, theoretical foundation, technical competence in analysis and presentation of the data,use of professional literature,structure of the paper and the quality of its text.

The Award consists of a certificate and a cash prize of € 400.

The Gunther Beyer Award is presented during the Award Ceremony at the closing session of the European Population Conference.

Laureates Gunther Beyer Award

2020 As the European Population Conference 2020 had to be cancelled because of the Covid-19 pandemic, the 2020 Gunther Beyer Award was not awarded.

2018 Ridhi Kashyap (Nuffield College, University of Oxford), "Does prenatal sex selection reduce gender gaps in child mortality?" awarded at the European Population Conference 2018 in Brussels, Belgium

2016 Ezgi Berktaş (Turkey), Institute of Population Studies, Hacettepe University Ankara, "Does Housework Rule? Fertility Intentions of Women in Turkey from a Gender Equity Perspective", awarded at the European Population Conference 2016 in Mainz, Germany.

2014 Haodong Qi (Sweden), Centre for Economic Demography, Lund University, “Retirement behavior of the Swedish Notch Babies”, awarded at the European Population Conference 2014 in Budapest, Hungary.
2012 - Stefan Öberg (Sweden) The University of Gothenburg, “Socioeconomic differences in height among young men in southern Sweden, 1818-1968”, awarded at the European Population Conference 2012 in Stockholm, Sweden.
2010 - Elizabeth Wrigley-Field and Felix Elwert (Madison, USA) University of Wisconsin, "Can multi-stage mortality selection explain a mortality deceleration puzzle?", awarded at the European Population Conference 2010 in Vienna, Austria.
2008 - Pia S. Schober (United Kingdom); University of Cambridge, "Relationship quality with pre-school children: how paid and domestic work matter to her, him and them", awarded at the European Population Conference 2008 in Barcelona, Spain.
2006 - Krzysztof Tymicki (Poland); Warsaw School of Economics, "The correlates of Infant and Childhood Mortality”, awarded at the European Population Conference 2006 in Liverpool, United Kingdom.
2003 - Marc Anton Luy (Germany) Federal Institute for Population Studies (BiB), "Nature or behaviour? An answer to the question of male excess mortality by a comparison of monastic and general population", awarded at the European Population Conference 2003 in Warsaw, Poland.
2001 - Marika Jalovaara, (Finland) “Socio-economic status and divorce in first marriages in Finland, 1991–93”, awarded at the European Population Conference 2001 in Helsinki, Finland.
1999 - Melinda Mills (Netherlands), “The link between Anthony Giddens social theory and family formation research”, awarded at the European Population Conference 1999 in The Hague, The Netherlands.
1997 - Pia Mäkelä (Finland) “Contribution of alcohol-related deaths to mortality in Finland".
1997 - Andres Vikat (Estonia), “Pre-Union childres as a determinant of futher childbearing insecond and higher order unions in contemporary Sweden”, both awarded at the EAPS Conference 1997.

2018 Laureate Ridhi Kashyap