Hoem Award

Jan M. Hoem Award for Social Policy and Family Demography

This Award honors outstanding achievements by an individual scholar on the intersection of social policy and family demography. The Award has been initiated by the Nordic Demographic Society to celebrate Jan M. Hoem’s (1939-2017) achievements in advancing Nordic and European family demography and social policy research.

Nominations for the Jan M. Hoem Award can be made at any time during the year. The only restriction is that nominations should be made no later than two months before a European Population Conference. Because the European Population Conference 2020 had to be cancelled due to the corona pandemic, the deadline for this Award has been extended to 1 August 2020!

The Award is dedicated to Jan M. Hoem’s groundbreaking contributions to research on social policy in relation to family-demography events and life-course outcomes, as well as his support to the advancement of family demography research at the Nordic and European levels. It also celebrates his role as educator and mentor of new generations of European family demographers.

The Award is sponsored by the Nordic Demographic Society, of which Jan M. Hoem was a co-founder in 1968.

Rules of play for the Jan M. Hoem Award

  • Candidates are scholars with at least five years of experience after their PhD. Candidates should be member of EAPS.
  • Candidates may nominate themselves for this Award. Candidates may also be nominated by at least three peers who are members of EAPS and who are residing in at least two different countries. The Jury may also invite nominations.
  • Nominations should include a short (maximum one page) explanatory statement as well as a curriculum vitae of the nominee.
  • Nominations should be sent to EAPS and will be treated as confidential.
  • The Council of EAPS appoints an independent Jury of peers for the Award.
  • The Jury consists of at least three members, including one member of the Nordic Demographic Society, one of whom will act as Chair.
  • The Jury is free to organize its work as it deems appropriate and to follow generally accepted scientific principles and criteria.
  • The Jury will explicitly account for years of experience, and will also account for justified leave periods.
  • Jury proceedings are confidential. The Jury submits a written report to the EAPS Council indicating the successful laureate and the motivation.
  • Awards are presented at each European Population Conference.
  • The Award brings a Euro 1000 Euro cash benefit and a certificate.


2018: Sunnee Billingsley (2018 Jury: Francesco Billari, Hill Kulu, Trude Lappegard)

Sunnee Billingsley 2018 recipient of Hoem Award
Sunnee Billingsley, 2018 laureate of the Jan M. Hoem Award